Skip to main content

Electronic Resources for Art Research: Home

Covering subject areas in art, art history, architecture, auction prices, fashion, prints and photography.

Librarian

About Us

The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs’ Art and Architecture Collection is the primary access point for readers and researchers using the research libraries’ materials, which relate to the fine arts, decoration, art history, architectural history, design, and theory. Collected primarily in English and Western European languages, the extensive collections include monographs, exhibition catalogs, auction records, periodicals, monographic series, ephemera, oeuvre and catalogues raisonnés.

Contact Us

For further assistance, ask library staff at the Art & Architecture Collection reference desk or email us at art@nypl.org for help with your research.

Follow Us

Recommended Resources

 

Art Full Text encompasses full-text articles dating back to 1977 plus abstracts and indexing of an international assortment of peer-selected publications.

Art Index Retrospective offers searchable indexing of noted art publications around the world, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 to 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch as well as English. In addition to periodicals, users can find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins, as well as bibliographies and conference reports.

ARTbibliographies Modern provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern covers artists and modern and contemporary art movements dating from the late nineteenth century onwards, including photography since its invention. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles and publications of professional associations published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. This database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. Coverage is from the 1930s, with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s, to the present.

Berg Fashion Library covers integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history, offering access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, a museum directory, reference works, images, and more.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogs, and articles from periodicals published between 1975 and 2007.

Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index holds more than 150 prominent art history periodicals held by the Frick Art Reference Library, covering Western European and American fine arts and some decorative arts from the fourth to nineteenth centuries. The journals covered in this index are published in a broad selection of languages, and researchers benefit from the inclusive coverage within the articles including artists, works, various public and private collections, exhibitions, and reproductions.

JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.

Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. It includes Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.

Project MUSE‚Äč provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. It covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Still Need Help?

If you are searching for a specific article try looking for the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper (e.g., October, Burlington Magazine, or the New York Times). Then search within the publication for your article or topic.
However, you may only have some information to track down a full citation. Even if you have pieces of a citation, you can still use New York Public Library’s catalog to search for the title. The catalog lists available electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers as well as materials in print and microform.

If the Library does not provide access to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper needed, you can request it from Interlibrary Services and Document Delivery.

Oxford Art Online: A short guide